Middleton traces its beginnings to an 1832 fur trading post along the northern shore of Lake Mendota near what is now Mendota County Park. The Township of Middleton was created in 1848 and about a decade later, in 1856, the much-coveted railroad arrived, establishing Middleton as a hub of activity for the area. The current depot was built in 1895 and serves as the Visit Middleton center, located on Parmenter Street downtown.
Middleton incorporated as a village in 1905 and became a city in 1963. Today the city retains its beautiful historic charm and celebrates its landmarks. For more history and photos of Middleton, check out the Middleton Historical Society and Rowley Museum.
See Middleton’s rich history come to life on the Middleton Area Historical Society's Landmarks Tour. Visit 21 stops around the Middleton for a glimpse into the past of the Good Neighbor City.
Download and print the full Landmarks Tour here. Maps are also available at the visitor center.
- First Middleton High School
- Little White Church on the Hill
- W. F. Pierstorff House
- Railroad Depot
- Opera House
- Weinberg/Schroeder Building
- American Hotel
- H. G. Wolf House
- Rowley House
and many more!
Step back in time and explore downtown Middleton’s rich past and historic landmarks through the Middleton Area Historical Society’s free guided Historic Downtown Middleton Stroll & Tell. All tours start and end at the Rowley House Museum, with a bathroom break halfway at Capital Brewery & Bier Garten. You can expect each tour to be a leisurely stroll that will take an hour and 45 minutes. Preregistration is not required but appreciated.
The Historic Walking Tour takes you on a stroll through Middleton’s past and right by these locations. See the list and map below, or view, download and print the full map and descriptions by clicking here.
- First high school, 1878
- Little White Church on the Hill, 1870
- Pierstorff House, circa 1890
- Railroad Depot, 1895
- Opera House, 1903
- Weinberg/Schroeder Building, 1868
- American Hotel, 1867
- Wolf House, 1868
- Rowley House, 1868
- Schwenn House, 1902